Bissah Named NSU Female Athlete of the Year


Young Ghanaian Female athlete Martha Bissah has been named as the best Female athlete of the year at Norlfork State University at the athletics department’s end-of-year awards ceremony on Monday.

Bissah burst onto the scene with a memorable freshman track season. She won four gold medals to earn Most Outstanding Female Track Athlete at the MEAC Indoor Championship in February.

She won the 800, mile and 3,000 meter events at the indoor championship and also ran a leg on NSU’s winning distance medley relay team.

Bissah has continued that success during outdoor season, as she is currently in qualifying position for the NCAA East Preliminary Round in the 800 meters. She is the MEAC’s top-ranked runner in both the 800 and 1,500 meters thus far.

She won the accolade alongside senir Basketball Player Jonathan Wade who was also adjudged as the best Male athlete of the year.

Marvin Prince Track Awards
Women: Tasia Baxter
Men: Allan Frye

Joseph Echols Award
Devin Hemmerich

Men’s Cross Country
Rookie of the Year: Felix Kiprotich
MVP: Ronald Korir

Women’s Cross Country
Coaches Award: Linei Woodson
Most Improved: Caroline Samoei
MVP: Candice Higgins

Men’s Track & Field
Rookie of the Year: Jacob Milton
Most Improved: Da’Trail Hockaday
MVP: Chris Lee

Women’s Track & Field
Coaches Award: Taejah Robertson
Most Improved: Candice Higgins
MVP: Martha Bissah

Special Teams MVP: Cameron Marouf
Offensive MVP: Greg Hankerson Jr.
Defensive MVP: Chris Lee

Rookie of the Year: Melvina Brown
Most Improved: Jill Aquino
MVP: Jessica Johnson

Men’s Basketball
Rookie of the Year: Kerwin Okoro
Co-MVP: Jonathan Wade / Zaynah Robinson

Women’s Basketball
Coaches Award: Jordan Strode
MVP: Kayla Roberts

Rookie of the Year: Aubrey Conrad
Most Improved: Jasmin Whitaker
MVP: Briana Gardner

Men’s Tennis
Mentally Toughest: Vini Da Silva
Most Improved: Dan Dumitrascu
MVP: Andres Alcaraz

Women’s Tennis
Mentally Toughest: Liza Gordeeva
Most Improved: Ana Popovic
MVP: Dajana Cvjetkovic

Coaches Award: Devin Hemmerich
(Other awards TBA at a later date)

Coaches Award: Hannah Haustein
(Other awards TBA at a later date)

Male All-Scholar Team (men’s team with highest team GPA)
Men’s tennis

Female All-Scholar Team (women’s team with highest team GPA)
Women’s bowling

12th Player Award (non-athletics staff member)
William “Beanie” Woodson & Eldrick Rawls

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year
Seana Moriarty, softball

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
Chris Ford, baseball

Female Athlete of the Year
Martha Bissah, women’s track

Male Athlete of the Year
Jonathan Wade, men’s basketball

About Author

Leave A Reply