Former Ghana International Charles Taylor has said former Black Stars captain Asamoah Gyan totally got it wrong with his verdict on Ghana’s penalty against South Africa in the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.
The former Ghana Premier League star believes Gyan’s comment was which suggests the penalty was soft, is an unfair comment to the country.
Black Stars defeated South Africa 1-0, a result that saw the former secure a place in the play-offs and remain in contention to achieve the dream of being in Qatar next year.
Andre Ayew scored the decisive goal in the 33rd minute after Black Stars were awarded a penalty because of a foul on Leicester City defender Daniel Amartey.
Senegalese referee Ndiaye Maguette was close to the action when Amartey was impeded in the box by Mamelodi Sundowns defender Rushine De Reuck.
“From where I sat and how I saw it, the infringement was debatable. I think Daniel Amartey went down too easily,” said Gyan on Asempa FM.
“I think the incident was a bit casual,” added Gyan.
However, Charles Taylor speaking on Angel TV said: “If I were in Asamoah Gyan’s shoes, I’d not comment on this South Africa penalty saga. His comment was unfair to Ghana as a legend,”
“He shouldn’t have made that comment knowing he is a former captain and a huge figure. Sometimes you don’t have to have an opinion on everything especially when you know your status.
“Someone will also argue that he was awarded some soft penalties when he played. But he didn’t say they were soft so he will reject them. He scored and celebrated. Why didn’t he say he was honest and reject them then.”
Asamoah Gyan made 109 appearances for the Black Stars and scored 51goals.
Gyan, is Africa’s leading top scorer at the World Cup has not been called to the Ghana senior national soccer team after the 2019 AFCON.