Gyamfi’s late goal gives Kotoko victory over Elmina Sharks


Emmanuel Gyamfi’s stoppage time goal against visitors Elmina Sharks was enough for Asante Kotoko to record their third consecutive victory of the season.

Kotoko struggled to find target in the entire 90 minutes but thanks to high-flying Gyamfi who stood forward to power the Porcupine warriors to a well celebrated victory over Coach Kobbina Amissah’s side.

Kotoko had a clear chance to pick the lead in the first half but Frank Sarfo Gyamfi blasted away the chance leaving the game barren after the first 45 minutes.

Back from break, diminutive winger Benjamin Tweneboah became threat to defender Abeiku Ainooson but could not dribble the ball pass him enter the penalty box let alone punishing goalkeeper Felix Annan.

Shark’s goalkeeper Francis Arthur was called to the occasion several times with his brilliant saves for the away side but could only be disappointed with a heartbreaking Gyamfi winner in stoppage time.

Felix Annan on the other hand was not tested much as Sharks resulted to defence rather than attack.

Coach Dzravko Logarusic was for to make three quick substations in the second half in Kotoko’s search for a goal.

Striker Kwame Boateng was introduced into the game to replace winger Sarfo Gyamfi with Eric Donkor also making way for striker Abass Mohammed.

Isaac Quansah came on to replace Seth Opare to ensure the host midfielder was stabilized in attempt to punish Elmina Sharks.

Coach Amissah also had to effect to effect his first substitution as Farouk Mohammed asked to watch the rest of the game from the tunnel with Richard Atika coming on for him.

Kotoko lies Second on the league log tied with 13 points with leaders Aduana Stars but separated with goal difference.

Asante Kotoko XI:

Felix Annan, Eric Donkor, Ahmed Adams, Abeiku Ainooson, Awudu Nafiu, Seth Opare, Frank Sarfo Gyamfi, Baba Mahama, Edwin Tuffour, Yakubu Mohammed, Emmanuel Gyamfi.

Elmina Sharks XI:

Francis Arthur, Obeng Daniel, Kingsley Adjei, Samuel Arthur, Adams Farouk, Benjamin Tweneboah, Tetteh Nortey, Mohammed Farouk, Addo Felix, Anthony Yerful, Joseph Mensah.

About Author

Leave A Reply